/sites/default/files/spandauer-vorstadt_hackescher-markt.jpg

Spandauer Vorstadt

The Spandauer Vorstadt can best be described as a world unto itself. This is Berlin as a cosmopolitan city: the whole city seems to be concentrated into a few square kilometers. Friedrichstrasse marks the start of a little tourist circuit. It passes Oranienburger Strasse and the former Tacheles Art House, where U2 were photographed for their legendary album “Achtung Baby” in the early 1990s. The whole area around this intersection has long had a loud and lively flair: Friedrichstrasse and Oranienburger Strasse were major entertainment districts even in the 1920s.

This vibrant section of road ends abruptly after just a few meters, at the turning into Auguststrasse, where middle-class residential blocks lend a pleasant sense of tranquility. Yes just a few meters further again, at the corner of Tucholskystrasse, the lively atmosphere is restored – culinarily speaking too, as this is the location of one of the City’s Michelin-starred restaurants: the Pauly Saal. Directly behind, people dance the night away in the venerable Clärchens Ballhaus, and crossing Grosse Hamburger Strasse takes you back to Oranienburger Strasse, the synagogue and the former post office. The whole walk takes 20 minutes, but you sense much of the legend that has surrounded Berlin since the 1920s.

In the early 20th century, the eastern part of the Spandauer Vorstadt, known as the Scheunenviertel, became a social flashpoint marked by poverty, prostitution, and petty crime, it had a poor reputation amongst Berliners. By contrast, the western edge the Spandauer Vorstadt became a center of middle-class Jewish life. The Scheunenviertel was destroyed by the Nazis and World War II, and anything left largely fell into decay during the GDR era. Only Sophienstrasse was spruced up for Berlin’s 750th anniversary celebrations in 1987.

So it was a rather desolate Spandauer Vorstadt that entered the new Federal Republic in 1990. It was the first of Berlin’s districts to experience a real boom that shapes its atmosphere to this day. The Spandauer Vorstadt is home to artists, journalists, gallery owners, business people, and people of independent means. And Jewish life has returned to the area around the synagogue. At the southern end of the district, the Hackescher Markt area with the Hackesche Höfe courtyard complex, one of Berlin’s biggest tourist draws stands as a sort of gateway marking the border to the rest of Berlin.

Current top Properties
Investments
Investments

Sound investment: 2-room apartment in Berlin-Mitte

  • Location Berlin-Mitte
  • Sizes 50 sqm, 2 rooms
  • Type exclusive apartment
  • Extras high-class fixtures and finish, impressive ceiling heights, balcony, central location
  • Status construction in progress
Self Use
Self Use

The Charleston - the epitome of cosmopolitan Berlin

  • Location Berlin-Mitte
  • Sizes 304 sqm, 6 rooms
  • Type exclusive penthouse
  • Extras roof terrace, 2 balconies, fitted kitchen, parking spaces, fitness studio, concierge service
  • Status ready for occupancy
Self Use
Self Use

Penthouse with two terraces and view of the television tower

  • Location Berlin-Mitte
  • Sizes 108 sqm, 3 rooms
  • Type exclusive penthouse
  • Extras concierge service, underground parking, 2 terraces, high-class fixtures and finish, fireplace, impressive ceiling heights, central location
  • Status construction in progress
Self Use
Self Use

Perfectly designed apartment with unobstructable park views

  • Location Berlin-Mitte
  • Sizes 81 sqm, 3 rooms
  • Type exclusive apartment
  • Extras high-class fixtures and finish, impressive ceiling heights, underground parking, central location
  • Status construction in progress

/sites/default/files/spandauer-oranienburger2_0.jpg

Spandauer Vorstadt

Eine eigene Welt – so kann die Spandauer Vorstadt wohl am besten beschrieben werden. Hier ist Berlin Weltstadt, denn ganz Berlin scheint sich hier auf wenige Quadratkilometer zu verdichten. An der Friedrichstraße beginnt eine kleine Touristenmeile. Sie führt vorbei an der Oranienburger Straße und dem ehemaligen Kunsthaus Tacheles, wo sich zu Beginn der 1990er schon U2 für das legendäre Album „Achtung Baby" fotografieren ließen. Rund um diese Straßenkreuzung hat das quirlige und laute Flair durchaus Tradition, denn die Friedrichstraße und Oranienburger Straße waren schon in den 1920ern große Vergnügungsmeilen.

Der lebendige Straßenabschnitt endet aber schon nach wenigen Metern abrupt an der Einbiegung zur Auguststraße, wo bürgerliche Wohnhäuser wohlige Ruhe vermitteln. Doch bereits ein paar Meter weiter, an der Ecke Tucholskystraße, beginnt erneut das rege Leben – auch kulinarisch, denn hier residiert eines der Sternerestaurants der Stadt: der Pauly Saal. Gleich dahinter tanzen die Menschen im Traditionslokal Clärchens Ballhaus und über die Große Hamburger Straße geht es zurück zur Oranienburger Straße, zur Synagoge und zum ehemaligen Postfuhramt. Der ganze Fußmarsch dauert 20 Minuten und man erahnt viel von jener Legende, die Berlin seit den 1920ern Jahren begleitet.

Der östlich gelegene Teil der Spandauer Vorstadt, das sogenannte Scheunenviertel, entwickelte sich zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts zum sozialen Brennpunkt. Armut, Prostitution und Kleinkriminalität prägten das Viertel und dementsprechend hatte es bei der Berliner Bevölkerung keinen guten Ruf. Dagegen hatte sich im westlich angrenzenden Teil der Spandauer Vorstadt ein gutbürgerliches, jüdisches Leben etabliert. Das Scheunenviertel wurde durch die Nationalsozialisten und den Zweiten Weltkrieg zerstört. Was übrig blieb, zerfiel weitestgehend zu DDR-Zeiten. Nur die Sophienstraße wurde 1987 anlässlich der 750-Jahr-Feier Berlins herausgeputzt.

So kam die Spandauer Vorstadt 1990 eher desolat in die neue Bundesrepublik und erfuhr als erster Kiez einen richtigen Aufschwung, der bis heute das Flair des Bezirks ausmacht. Hier wohnen Künstler, Journalisten, Galeristen, Kaufleute und Privatiers. Und auch das jüdische Leben ist rund um die Synagoge zurückgekehrt. Im Süden thront der Hackesche Markt mit den Hackeschen Höfen, einem der größten Touristenmagnete Berlins, wie eine Art Tor und markiert die Grenze zum restlichen Berlin. 

Aktuelle Immobilien
Eigennutzer
Eigennutzer

Traumhafte Familienwohnung mit 2 Terrassen und Privatgarten

  • Lage Berlin-Mitte
  • Grössen 130 m², 5 Zimmer
  • Extras Concierge-Service, Tiefgarage, 2 Terrassen, Gartenterrasse
  • Status im Bau
Investoren
Investoren

Fritz Tower – Mikroapartments in Berlin-Mitte

  • Lage Berlin-Mitte
  • Grössen 22 - 51 m², 1 - 2 Zimmer
  • Objektart Exklusive Eigentumswohnungen
  • Extras modern möbliert, Concierge-Service, Fitnessstudio
  • Status im Planungszustand
Investoren
Investoren
Investoren

Luisenpark Berlin-Mitte

  • Lage Berlin-Mitte
  • Grössen 40 - 156 m², 2 - 5 Zimmer
  • Objektart Exklusive Eigentumswohnungen und Penthouses
  • Extras Concierge-Service, Tiefgarage, Balkone, Loggien und Terrassen
  • Status im Bau
Investoren
Investoren

Vermietete schicke Erdgeschoßwohnung - teilgewerbliche Nutzung - in Traumlage

  • Lage Berlin-Mitte
  • Grössen 226 m², 3 Zimmer
  • Objektart Exklusive Eigentumswohnung
  • Extras Tiefgarage, exklusiver Wellnessbereich
  • Status bezugsfertig