/sites/default/files/frankfurt-und-der-brexit-der-deutsche-finanzplatz-als-profiteur.jpg


Great Expectations

The concept of Schadenfreude is not something that only Germans understand. The British are also familiar with the secret feeling of triumph you derive from someone else’s misfortune. But it is Germany’s Frankfurt am Main that is enjoying the greatest feeling of Schadenfreude right now, not Great Britain. In Frankfurt, the precise details of Theresa May’s announcements of a “hard” Brexit are being followed closely. The first bankers, insurers and asset managers in London will already be sitting on packed suitcases. And what Britain loses when it exits the European Union could soon be Frankfurt’s gains.

The first banks are moving to Frankfurt

But let’s start at the beginning. If they want to offer a full range of financial services across the EU, international banks and insurers need to have a so-called “passport”. This requires a headquarters in one of the EU’s member states and compliance with EU regulations and legislation. U.S. banks in particular, along with many Asian financial institutions, have long regarded London as their first port of call in the EU. Even before May’s Brexit plans were announced, a large number of institutions had already concluded that there would be little chance of maintaining their full passporting rights once the UK leaves the EU. They are already preparing to move jobs to other locations within the EU.

The Swiss investment bank, UBS, one of the world’s largest financial services companies, is one of the first out of the starting blocks. The bank announced in December that it would be moving 20-30 percent of its 5,000 London-based jobs to Frankfurt. Competitors such as Luxembourg or Paris, that had been touted as equally likely destinations, ended up empty-handed. It is likely that others will follow the example set by UBS. According to an EY survey of international real estate experts, more than 70 percent of respondents expect Frankfurt to reap the biggest benefits if London is toppled as Europe’s leading financial center. A majority of those surveyed believe that this will lead to increases in both transaction volumes and rental prices.

Experts expect property prices in Frankfurt to rise

There are a number of factors in Frankfurt’s favor. This major financial center is not just an important motor within the European banking sector, it also has Europe’s third-largest airport and the world’s seventh-largest train station, which makes “Mainhattan” one of the continent’s key transport hubs, and one of Germany’s most international cities. This puts Frankfurt clearly ahead of Milan or Paris. One of the biggest beneficiaries will be Frankfurt’s real estate market; 86 percent of the industry experts surveyed by EY predict that prices will rise for condominiums and apartment buildings in Frankfurt.

The finance industry’s center is moving

Many already regard Frankfurt as Europe’s top financial center. In its 2017 “Emerging Trends in Real Estate” study, pwc rates London’s real estate market as low as 27th of the 30 cities analyzed. In contrast, Frankfurt am Main ranks third in Europe, which represents a sensational surge up the rankings in comparison to the previous year’s result, when Frankfurt was ranked 14th. And with every company that follows the example set by UBS, Frankfurt’s attractiveness is given a further boost. The joyful anticipation of Frankfurt’s real estate industry is certainly justified.

/sites/default/files/frankfurt-und-der-brexit-der-deutsche-finanzplatz-als-profiteur.jpg


Great Expectations

Schadenfreude ist nicht nur in Deutschland ein Begriff. Auch die Briten wissen um das Gefühl des heimlichen Triumphes, das man aus dem Unglück eines anderen zieht. Besonders groß ist die Schadenfreude derzeit allerdings nicht in Großbritannien, sondern im deutschen Frankfurt am Main. Dort wurde Theresa Mays Ankündigung eines harten Brexits sehr genau zugehört und gefolgert: Erste Banker, Versicherer und Vermögensverwalter in London dürften bereits auf gepackten Koffern sitzen. Und was die Briten durch den Austritt aus der Europäischen Union verlieren, könnte der Finanzstandort Frankfurt schon bald gewinnen.

Die ersten Banken ziehen nach Frankfurt

Aber beginnen wir von vorn: Um ihre Dienstleistungen in der gesamten EU anbieten zu dürfen, benötigen internationale Banken und Versicherer einen sogenannten Passport. Dazu müssen sie einen Sitz in einem EU-Mitgliedsland haben und folglich nach europäischem Recht operieren. Gerade US-amerikanischen sowie vielen asiatischen Instituten galt der Finanzstandort London hierfür lange Zeit als die erste Anlaufstelle. Bereits vor der Bekanntgabe von Mays Brexit-Plänen sind viele Institute jedoch zu dem Schluss gekommen, dass bei einem EU-Austritt Großbritanniens keine realistische Chance auf die Erhaltung der vollen Passporting-Rechte besteht. Sie bereiten sich auf die Verlagerung von Arbeitsplätzen in andere EU-Mitgliedsstaaten vor.

Den Anfang machte die Schweizer UBS, einer der größten Vermögensverwalter weltweit. Im Dezember gab die Großbank bekannt, 20 bis 30 Prozent ihrer 5.000 Beschäftigten von London nach Frankfurt umzusiedeln. Konkurrenten wie Luxemburg oder Paris, die als Mitfavorit gehandelt wurden, gingen leer aus. Das Beispiel UBS könnte Schule machen. Einer Umfrage von EY unter internationalen Immobilienexperten zufolge rechnen mehr als 70 Prozent der Befragten damit, dass die Mainmetropole am stärksten profitieren wird, wenn London als europäischer Finanzplatz wegfällt. Sowohl die Transaktionsvolumina als auch Mietpreise werden nach Meinung der Mehrheit der Befragten steigen.

Experten rechnen mit steigenden Preisen für Frankfurter Immobilien

Und tatsächlich spricht einiges für Frankfurt: Die Finanzmetropole ist nicht nur ein wichtiger Motor der europäischen Bankenbranche: Mit dem drittgrößten Flughafen auf dem Kontinent und dem siebtgrößten Bahnhof weltweit ist „Mainhattan“ ein zentraler Verkehrsknotenpunkt in Europa – und eine der internationalsten Städte des Landes. Damit genießt Frankfurt deutliche Vorteile im Vergleich zu Mailand oder Paris. Profitieren würde davon vor allem der Frankfurter Immobilienmarkt: 86 Prozent der durch EY befragten Experten erwarten einen Preisanstieg für Wohnungen und Wohnhäuser in Frankfurt.

Das Zentrum der Finanzbranche verschiebt sich

Viele sehen die Mainmetropole schon jetzt als den Top-Finanzplatz Europas: Laut der von pwc für 2017 veröffentlichten „Emerging Trends in Real Estate“-Studie liegt London als Immobilienstandort nur noch auf Platz 27 von 30 bewerteten Städten. Hingegen belegt Frankfurt am Main europaweit Platz 3, was im Vergleich zum Vorjahr einen sensationellen Sprung bedeutet. 2016 lag die Stadt noch auf Platz 14. Mit jedem Unternehmen, das dem Beispiel der UBS folgen wird, steigt die Attraktivität der Mainmetropole nur weiter. Die Vorfreude in der Frankfurter Immobilienbranche ist durchaus