/sites/default/files/friedrich-wilhelm-stadt_kanzleramt.jpg

Friedrich-Wilhelm-Stadt

Friedrich-Wilhelm-Stadt is one of the few places in Berlin where past and present can be experienced simultaneously. This area is dominated by two names: the Charité and the Berliner Ensemble. This quarter was once separated from the Spandauer Vorstadt and developed into a small and varied neighborhood between the borders of the larger districts. And to this day it is dominated by the Charité hospital and medicine in general. It was also because of this separation that medicine found so much space to dominate so outstandingly – as well as theater.

Even today, the area’s southern section and the immediate vicinity of Friedrichstrasse railway station, where the Berliner Ensemble, the Deutsches Theater and the Friedrichstadtpalast can all be found, is still a major center for the German performing arts. As far back as 1891, the “Grosses Schauspielhaus” theater stood on the banks of the River Spree. Director Max Reinhardt staged productions there, and stars such as the Marlene Dietrich and singing ensemble the Comedian Harmonists all appeared on the Grosses Schauspielhaus stage. And even before the building was converted into a theater, it was a permanent 5,000-seat circus arena. Today only the street names are a reminder of the old days: “Am Zirkus” is today the location of the yoo Berlin development, which features interior design by Philippe Starck.

To the north, beyond the high-rise tower of the Charité hospital and near the former Hamburger Bahnhof railway station – today a contemporary art museum – Friedrich-Wilhelm-Stadt ends at the Humboldthafen basin, through which, until 1990 the border between the two Germanys ran. After the collapse of the GDR, the presence of the wall and the associated standstill in urban planning came to an end. Wasteland was turned into building land, and office and residential buildings sprang up to the north of the area and administrative buildings to the south.

Berlin’s main station, Hauptbahnhof, is easily accessible on foot from anywhere in Friedrich-Wilhelm-Stadt. There is also the government quarter and the major television broadcasters. Also in Friedrich-Wilhelm-Stadt is one of Berlin’s best private art museums: the remarkably unremarkable “Boros bunker” as it is known in the vernacular, so called for its current owner. This indestructible air raid-proof building houses an impressive collection of modern art.

Current top Properties
Self Use
Self Use

Grand and grandiose: 169 sqm of the good life in Berlin-Mitte

  • Location Berlin-Mitte
  • Sizes 169 sqm, 4 rooms
  • Type exclusive apartment
  • Extras balconies, fitted kitchen, open-plan kitchen, underground parking, high-class fixtures and finish, concierge service, central location, wellness area, gym
  • Status construction in progress
Self Use
Self Use

Stylish living on 82 sqm in VERT in Berlin-Mitte

  • Location Berlin-Mitte
  • Sizes 82 sqm, 2 rooms
  • Type exclusive apartment
  • Extras 2 balconies, fitted kitchen, open-plan kitchen, high-class fixtures and finish, concierge service, central location, wellness area, gym
  • Status construction in progress
Self Use
Self Use

Enjoy relaxed summer evenings at Köllnischer Park

  • Location Berlin-Mitte
  • Sizes 62 sqm, 2 rooms
  • Type exclusive apartment
  • Extras balcony, high-class fixtures and finish, impressive ceiling heights, underground parking, central location
  • Status construction in progress
Investments
Investments

FUTURE-PROOF INVESTMENT: RENTED 2-ROOM APARTMENT WITH BALCONY

  • Location Berlin-Mitte
  • Sizes 64 sqm, 2 rooms
  • Type exclusive apartment
  • Extras central location, balcony, impressive ceiling heights
  • Status ready for occupancy

/sites/default/files/friedrich-wilhelm-stadt_kanzleramt.jpg

Friedrich-Wilhelm-Stadt

Die Friedrich-Wilhelm-Stadt ist einer der wenigen Orte in Berlin, an denen Vergangenheit und Gegenwart gleichzeitig so erlebbar sind. Zwei Namen dominieren diesen Kiez: Charité und Berliner Ensemble. Die Charité – und mit ihr die Medizin – beherrscht auch heute noch das Quartier, das einst von der Spandauer Vorstadt abgespalten wurde und sich als kleiner, wenig homogener Kiez zwischen den Grenzen der großen Bezirke entwickelte.

In diesem besonderen Kiez fanden neben der Medizin das Theater großflächig und überragend seine Heimat. Im südlichen Teil und in unmittelbarer Nähe des Bahnhofs Friedrichstraße ist mit dem Berliner Ensemble, dem Deutschen Theater und dem Friedrichstadtpalast auch heute noch die deutsche Bühnenkunst konzentriert. Bereits 1891 befand sich unmittelbar an der Spree das Große Schauspielhaus. Max Reinhardt inszenierte hier und Stars wie Marlene Dietrich und die Comedian Harmonists standen auf der Bühne. Bevor aus dem Gebäude ein Theater wurde, war es ein fester Zirkusbau mit 5.000 Plätzen. Heute erinnert nur noch der Straßenname an die alten Zeiten: Am Zirkus befindet sich heute die Designimmobilie yoo Berlin mit der von Philippe Starck inspirierten Innenarchitektur.

Im Norden der Friedrich-Wilhelm-Stadt, nach dem Bettenhochhaus der Charité, endet das Quartier nahe dem Hamburger Bahnhof – heute ein Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst – am Becken des Humboldthafens, durch das bis 1990 die innerdeutsche Grenze verlief. Nach der Wende hatten dieses Mauerdasein und der damit verbundene städtebauliche Stillstand ein Ende. Brachland wurde zu Bauland und nördlich des Viertels entstanden Büro- und Wohnhäuser und südlich Verwaltungsgebäude.

Der Hauptbahnhof ist hier in der Friedrich-Wilhelm-Stadt eigentlich von überall schnell zu Fuß zu erreichen, ebenso wie das Regierungsviertel und die großen Fernsehanstalten. Auffällig unauffällig steht in der Friedrich-Wilhelm-Stadt auch eines der besten privaten Kunstmuseen Berlins: der Boros-Bunker, wie er nach seinem heutigen Besitzer im Volksmund genannt wird. Das unzerstörbare Luftschutzgebäude beherbergt eine beeindruckende Sammlung moderner Kunst. 

Aktuelle Immobilien
Eigennutzer
Eigennutzer

Entspannte Sommerabende direkt am Köllnischen Park

  • Lage Berlin-Mitte
  • Grössen 62 m², 2 Zimmer
  • Objektart Exklusive Eigentumswohnung
  • Extras Balkon, hochwertige Ausstattung, hohe Decken, Tiefgarage, zentrale Lage
  • Status im Bau
Investoren
Investoren

Nachhaltige Investition: Vermietete 2-Zimmer-Wohnung mit Balkon

  • Lage Berlin-Mitte
  • Grössen 64 m², 2 Zimmer
  • Objektart Exklusive Eigentumswohnung
  • Extras zentrale Lage, Balkon, hohe Decken
  • Status bezugsfertig
Eigennutzer
Eigennutzer

Leben in einer der angesagtesten Straßen Berlins: 3-Zimmer-Altbauwohnung mit Balkon

  • Lage Berlin-Mitte
  • Grössen 86 m², 3 Zimmer
  • Objektart Exklusive Eigentumswohnung
  • Extras zentrale Lage, hohe Decken, Balkon, Aufzug
  • Status bezugsfertig
Investoren
Investoren
Investoren

Ein steingewordenes Manifest für gute Gestaltung

  • Lage Berlin-Mitte
  • Grössen 83 - 135 m², 2 - 4 Zimmer
  • Objektart Exklusive Eigentumswohnungen und Penthouses
  • Extras zentrale Lage, Concierge-Service, hochwertige Ausstattung, Balkone, Loggien und Terrassen, hohe Decken, Tiefgarage, Einbauküche, exklusiver Wellnessbereich, Fitnessraum
  • Status im Bau